The Kosher Hub Home of all Things Jewish

The Kosher Hub Logo
Upstate Vodka

Kosher for Passover Vodka

Can spirits be Kosher for Passover?

Yes, spirits can be Kosher for Passover, as long as they are produced using ingredients that are permissible for Passover and are made under strict supervision to ensure that no chametz (leavened grains) are used in the process. To be certified as Kosher for Passover, a spirit must be made from ingredients like potato or beets, and be produced using equipment that has been thoroughly cleaned and is free of any chametz residue.

Many brands of spirits, including vodka, gin, and whiskey, are available with Kosher for Passover certification. However, it’s important to note that Kosher for Passover certification can vary by region and certifying agency, so it’s best to check the specific brand and certification before purchasing.

Kosher for Passover Vodka - Bottle of Lvov
Kosher for Passover Vodka Lvov

The process of making vodka generally involves the following steps:

  1. Preparation of the base ingredient: The base ingredient for vodka can be grains, potatoes, or other materials. The grains or potatoes are cleaned, milled, and cooked to create a mash.

  2. Fermentation: Yeast is added to the mash, and the mixture is left to ferment for several days. During this process, the yeast converts the sugars in the mash into alcohol.

  3. Distillation: The fermented mash is then heated in a still, which separates the alcohol from the water and other impurities in the mixture. The resulting liquid, known as the distillate, is a high-proof spirit.

  4. Filtration: The distillate is usually filtered multiple times through activated carbon or other materials to remove any impurities and create a smooth, clean taste.

  5. Blending and bottling: The distilled and filtered vodka is blended with water to bring it down to the desired alcohol level and flavor profile. The vodka is then bottled and packaged for distribution

However to make a Vodka Kosher for Passover some vodka producers use other ingredients to create flavored vodka and avoid using the wheat and grains that are prohibited during Passover.

The exact process can vary depending on the producer and the type of vodka being made.

In the videos below we see that Lvov Vodka from Poland is made from Beets and the Upstate Vodka is made from apples.

Hear what Jay and Gabe from Kosherdotcom have to say about Kosher for Passover Spirits. This recording was taken around 3 years ago so you should still check on your Kosher Authority website that this Cava Tequila is still Kosher for Passover as things can change.

They also talk about the  Lvov Beet Vodka which is Kosher for Passover and comes from Poland and a list of other spirits that are all KFP! 

Moishe Mayer is showing how easy it is to throw a Kosher for Passover Margarita together using Kosher for Passover Vodka, Tequila Blanco, Kosher Salt and freshly squeezed lime.

In this recipe they use Upstate KFP Vodka.

This Vodka can be purchased here at

Upstate Vodka is an apple based vodka.


Will Hadjigeorgalis is showing how easy it is to make more cocktails using the Kosher for Passover Upstate Vodka.

Can you believe that approximately 75 apples go into making one bottle of vodka!


In this recipe Will uses lemons to make a Spice Cider using Kosher for Passover Vodka, Chai Tea syrup (which would need to also be Kosher for Passover) 


Other Vodkas that are Kosher For Passover

Pravda Kosher for Passover Vodka
Distillery No. 209 Vodka
Royal Elite Vodka

These vodkas can be purchased at online liquor store Kosher Wine Direct HERE

Getting into the spirit of Passover with some fun Matzah products – HERE

Passover Matzah T Shirt
Passover Matzah T Shirt
Passover Matzah Ice Bucket
Passover Matzah Ice Bucket
Passover Wine Tote Bag
Passover Matzah Wine Tote

Typically during Passover, American Jews drink wine, as it is an important part of the Passover Seder ritual. In fact, the Seder includes the drinking of four cups of wine, which represent the four promises made by God to the Jewish people.

However Passover is an eight day holiday and no one wants to get stuck with wine.

Here are 4 Passover Cocktail recipes you can make yourself using Kosher for Passover Spirits 

Check out this interesting video on how Patron make Tequila and the process they use for making Tequila in general. 

Please note that is process will involve different steps for  ensuring the Tequila is Kosher for Passover. 

Research suggests that Tequila Patron obtained kosher certification from several different agencies, including the Orthodox Union (OU), OK Kosher, and the Chicago Rabbinical Council (cRc).


The Kosher Hub has designed a beautifully iconic Jewish Calendar with all the important holidays for this coming year that you can download for FREE. 

The Kosher Hub Logo
Jewish Calendar 2023
Cava Tequila Kosher for Passover





What about Tequila? What you need to know about Kosher for Passover Tequila